Well, I have not had a good day. I spent a good portion of the day telling my kids what they couldn’t do, or that what they had done was wrong. Then I spent another good portion of the day praying that they wouldn’t grow up and hate me. My oldest son and I spent most of the day in a battle of wills about who is going to make the rules(me, by the way) and who is going to follow them (him).

Then my feelings got hurt.

Then I got homesick. It’s so easy to believe, when I am sad and upset, that things would be completely different if we just hadn’t moved half way across the country from home.

So I was pleasantly surprised to find these flowers growing in my yard. My favorite flowers are violas, of which I am pretty sure these are a wild variety. I didn’t plant them there, and they weren’t growing there last year. In fact, I am pretty sure they weren’t growing there yesterday. Oh, coincidence, a lot of people will say. You just didn’t notice them before. I know though. I know that God knew I would be looking down today instead of up, as I should be. He put them there so that I would remember His promise…

Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the LORD thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest. –Joshua 1:9

