The first “finished” object of 2006, I suppose. You can look at it two ways, as it was amoung the last things I dyed in 2005, but I finished plying it yesterday morning. It turned out so nicely. There is 182 yards, of probably fingering weight or sport weight yarn. I can’t find my wpi tool. I was hoping I would have about 200 so that I could make the Heartstrings smoke ring from it, but I guess that is not going to work out. So there is no plan for this yarn at the minute.

I also have some more work done towards my Fair Isle goals. A few more blends. I don’t know too much about blends yet, I’m just getting started. I have to sit with the color wheel in front of me, and I have been searching out yarns made from blended fibers to look at on the internet. I think my favorite in this picture is the second blue from the top, followed by the green at the bottom.

I continue on my search for a good Bible study. I know that I need some direction, and I really need to work on trusting the Lord. Sometimes it feels like I am balanced on a precipice, and all it will take is one gentle puff of wind, one more “bad” thing to push me off into depression. I have stood, expecting that long fall, and it never comes. He continues to be faithful, to bear me up, even when I feel like I have failed Him. Since I haven’t found a Bible study (for free, online, anyway) that “fits” yet, I have been studying the names of God. One site I have read lists 603 different names that He has been called, not counting the I Am’s (ex. I am the LORD which exercise loving-kindness, judgment, and righteousness.) and the Who’s (ex. Who walketh upon the wings of the wind). Just reading the names is calming, and I take comfort in it.

My favorite, right now, is “A Nail in a Sure Place” When we discussed this one during homeschool the other day, I explained to the kids how if you want to hang a shelf or a picture, you have to find a stud in the wall. If you put your nail any other place, then you can’t put much of a load on it, or it will tear out of the wall. And so is Jesus. at least for me. When I try to find my happiness anywhere else (in money, friends and family, food) I soon find that I can’t put much of a load there. There is not enough money in the world to take the place of Jesus; I can’t always be what other people need me to be, (or they for me!); food (although I love it) does not fill me up with what I need. No, the only sure place to put my faith is in Jesus.

And the key of the house of David will I lay upon his shoulder; so he shall open, and none shall shut; and he shall shut, and none shall open. And I will fasten him as a nail in a sure place; and he shall be for a glorious throne to his father’s house. –Isaiah 22:22-23

