Early last week I ordered the book Spinning for Softness and Speed by Paula Simmons. It got here Friday. It’s a slim little book, detailing a method of spinning with one hand. Done correctly, it is said to produce an even yarn that is not overtwisted. That is what I am interested in more than the speed, although the speed is amazing.

After practicing the method about three times, I think I am getting close. My results are still a little uneven, but everytime I have produced a skein of plyed yarn that is perfectly balanced, (the plied yarn hangs in a circle, not twisting back on itself) a feat that I have rarely produced before.

The evenness of this yarn still needs work, but I think it may be the fiber I am working with. It is pretty dense and thick. I’m excited about the whole thing though, I can’t wait to practice more.

  Posted by Picasa

