ashland bay singles

I had an awful cold last week, clear through yesterday. I didn’t have enough energy to keep track of a pattern and knit, so I spun.  I finished two bobbins of this Ashland Bay merino/silk blend.  I love this colorway so much, but I have no idea what to knit out of it, or even if I will make it a two ply or three ply. I have probably spun 1/2 to 2/3 of it. It is so nice to spin, it just flows through your fingers like water.

I also spent some time on Saturday combing the first little bit of Tootles wool.  It combs out into big fluffy clouds of creamy white top. There is very little waste, and I just took the bits that were “waste” and spun them up into a thin single that I then plied. It waste doesn’t make a beautiful yarn, but I think once I dye it, it will make nice sock yarn.  I know a lot of people just throw out the stuff left over after combing, keeping only the top, but I just can’t bring myself to do that.  If nothing else, it will make warm hats and mittens for the kids after it is dyed.

I just wanted to take a moment and thank everyone that has left a comment supporting me on my weight loss journey.  It really means a lot to get those comments when I am having a rough day.  I am getting close to 50 lbs lost, and while I still have a long way to go, I am going to keep taking it one step at a time.  I’ll get there, eventually!

