AShland Bay Plied Yarn

After a marathon house cleaning session while the kids were doing homeschool yesterday, I was ready for some relaxation yesterday evening.   After waffling about two or three ply on the Ashland Bay fiber, the decision was made when I couldn’t find the third bobbin for the Asford Traditional wheel. I know I have one, I just have no idea where it is.  Reagan, my pack rat, probably has it in her room.  I was going to ply it on the Kromski wheel any way, so not knowing where that bobbin was at least didn’t keep me from getting it plied.

I think this yarn might be the prettiest yarn I have ever spun. I was worried it was going to be very stripy as I was spinning it up, but plying does wonderful things for singles. It turned out almost exactly as I had hoped it would when I got the fiber 2 years ago. This is the same fiber, but a different color way, as I used for the yarn for mom’s shawl, but for that yarn, I was just  spinning from big chunks of fiber, which made the yarn for mom’s shawl an almost homogenous brown. This time, I would take a length of fiber, divide it into halves, then halves again, and so on until I had I think 1/16th of the original strip of fiber. This tiny strip would have two or three colors in it, and would spin up kind of barber poley. However, since the color repeats were very very short, when plied you get a nice mixture of colors instead of a plain old marled effect.

 We walked back to the river today, and I took the yarn and my camera so I could try to take some pictures of it that didn’t involve my front porch. I am running out of ways to make the porch look attractive.  As spring arrives here in Eastern Oklahoma, you can really see the damage that the ice storm wreaked on the trees.  There are so many red buds and dogwoods blooming on the ground, and it’s so sad. Those trees probably won’t make it through the dry hot summer here. There has been a lot of flooding in areas  north of us as well, and the river was really up.  The kids, who usually are in the river withing 15 seconds of getting there, just kind of picked their way along the edge. It looked rough and deep, not like it usually is.  That didn’t keep Stache out of it though. He just kept plunging back in, even though he had to be exhausted, fighting the current. He loves the river.

dogwoods

