One thing that I haven’t found a lot of time for lately is time to just read.  It’s been a long time since I read anything but my Bible, email, or blogs.  But recently I found my library card, and so I have been able to reserve books for Sean to pick up for us at the library (because gas is so high it makes more sense to do it that way than for all of us to make a trip to the library)  We went to the library last Monday, and then Sean took some books back and picked up more for us yesterday. 

So Wednesday, I picked up Little House on the Prairie, because I was going to read it to the kids.  Instead, I started reading it shortly before I started dinner, and finished it about 7:00.  It was even better than I remembered from when I read it as a girl, because I have done some of the things that Laura writes about in it.  I have made cornbread. I have baked my own bread. I have eaten wild turkey and venison.  I also checked out The Little House Cookbook, and the only advice I have is, don’t check that book out if you are on a diet. It makes you hungry, and none of the recipes are exactly low fat, LOL. Reading it though, shows you how much work went into just feeding a family without a grocery store on every corner. Being a mother then was a LOT of work.  After finishing Little House on the Prairie, I handed it to Reagan, and to my amazement, she can read it! I don’t know if she’ll make it all the way through this time, she isn’t used to such big books, but she has read some of it, and seems to be happy about it. I’m glad.

The book I read yesterday was called Spinners by Donna Jo Napoli and Richard Tchen. It is a modernized telling of the Rumplestilskin story, and the only bad thing about it was that it made you keenly aware of the fact that it is hard to spin and read at the same time.  Boy, was that a good book, I really enjoyed it.  I can’t believe I hadn’t heard about it on some other spinning blog before. We have another spinning book in our holds list, called Mr. Putter and Tabby Spin the Yarn, by Cynthia Rylant.  There isn’t much we haven’t enjoyed by Cynthia Rylant, an author of children’s books, but our favorties are Poppleton books, they just make us laugh and laugh. My favorite book of hers though is When I Was Young in the Mountains. Ms. Rylant grew up in WV, and it shows.

And now, after being lazy all day, (Sean was off unexpectedly, and will be off tommorrow as well, so we are being laaaaazzzzzy today.)  I need to go get the church bulletin done.  Being lazy for a while has it’s price.

