a post, some weight loss progress, and pictures! Aren’t you excited?

baby-blanket-for-blog.jpg

I finished the Mile-A-Minute baby afghan on the very day that my little neice was born. I still haven’t even seen a picture of her yet, but that’s okay because in less than 2 weeks, we are going to go and visit my hometown for vacation. I’ll get to see the little angel in person, as well as my other neices, my mom, my grandma, some of my siblings, and assorted aunts, uncles and cousins.  I am taking the Ashford traditional that doesn’t see much use here to my cousin Jill (email me, Jill! I lost your email address in the computer crash!) and I am still trying to decide what knitting to pack. I also have to find a few decks of cards for the hand and foot canasta marathon. I hope someone still remembers all the rules.

I have also been working on these fingerless mitts out of the turqoise yarn that I spun. I love this yarn, but boy, is it tiny. I really have to make an effort to spin thicker yarn, cause this thin stuff takes forever to knit up.

fingerless-mitts-for-jean.jpg

I also don’t have a lot of it, so these mitts were knit up so that the cuff starts almost at the wrist, and are very short. I am going to solve the problem of coverage by putting another set of fingerless mitts knit in Lion Brand Fisherman’s Yarn underneath the handspun set. It’s a little bulky, but it will give three looks and I think it works.  I am knitting these for my Weight Watchers Leader, Jean Lamb, who is just the sweetest and most supportive leader I think Weight Watchers has.  She has moved to the big city, (LOL) and will only be our leader here for a few more weeks. I am really really going to miss her.

How is Weight Watchers’ going you ask?  Last week, I was down 4.6 lbs, a huge loss, but probably mostly the 4 lbs of water weight I gained after the doctor took me off my blood pressure meds. I was down to 200.4 at the last meeting, and the next morning my personal scale said 199.6. Hopefully this means at the next weigh in (the last one before we go home) I will be under the 200 mark. I have really been working out hard, and really trying to eat completely Core, using as few of my weekly flex points as possible.  I know I have been working hard though, and doing everything I can., so if the scale doesn’t co-operate, oh well. I’ll get there eventually.

Well, that’s enough for today. Sorry it’s been so long since I posted. Summer is just so busy!

