I still have more tales to tell from vacation, but wanted to take a minute to update the current project calendar.

After finishing the Ambrosia socks, my plan was to start the Williams Street Socks from the same issue of Interweave Knits. After searching for my circular needle in a size 3, then starting them on 2 and a halfs, I decided that since there was no way the sock knit on size 2 and 1/2’s was going to fit me, to do something else. 

So I started a project where I can use up all the little bits of handspun I have laying around.  I am going to knit mile a minute strips out of each little bit, and then use a border of grey yarn (The same grey from the lace smoke ring and shrug. Boy that was a lot of yarn in one sweater) Once I have enough strips, I am going to join them all together to make either a small stole or a shrug for around here on cold winter days.  I think it is going to be really neat, but then I only have the first two strips done. I think the scallops at the end will form a nice detail on the sleeve if I make this into a shrug.

mile-a-minute-shrug.jpg

I went to the spin in in Tulsa Saturday. It was so nice to see my friends Jane and Margaret! I hadn’t seen them in so long, and it was nice to sit and listen to everyone talk about their projects and what is going on in their lives. I hope now that Sean is out of school, this will become more of a regular occurence in my life. I hope to get to go to the spinning guild meeting in Talequah in September. I haven’t seen those folks for 2 years! I can’t believe it’s been that long!

While I was at the spin in I worked on the Daffodil top from Lorna’s Laces. I think it is going to make for a very colorful pair of socks. You know, I usually don’t pick things that are this bright, but I really liked this on the wall.  I am going to have to order wool and dye soon so I can get back to my own color ways. I really miss dyeing too.

daffodil-yarn.jpg

That’s all for today. Things have been going hay wire around here for a couple of days, things breaking down unexpectedly, and several things have fallen on me today, so keep me in your prayers. I  am sure I am in need of them!

