We ran a few errands in town yesterday. We went to the library and stocked up on books for the week (I found a book called Weaving Contemporary Rag Rugs by Heather L. Allen.  Now I really want a rigid heddle loom for Christmas) and then we went to the thrift store.

I think I have posted before on my love for the thrift store.  Granted, there is a lot of stuff in there that no one would ever wear (although maybe good for rag rugs, right?) but there is always a treasure or two.  My first find was three pairs of size 16 jeans! Now I know some of you are reading this and thinking, how in the world can she be happy about wearing size 16 jeans? But having worn a size 26/28 a little less than a year ago, a size 16 makes me happier than you can imagine. 

But what really makes me happy is that no one in Oklahoma wears wool sweaters.  I imagine that all the wool sweaters that I find in the thrift shops were Christmas gifts. The recipiants wore them once, and then decided they were too hot or required too much care with all the handwashing and drycleaning, and too them to the thrift shop.   There are cabled sweaters and Fair Isle sweaters, pullovers and cardigans, and they are all waiting there for me to find them!  Yesterday I found a nice wool cabled cardigan and a beautiful brown and light turqoise Fair Isle cardigan.  I could only afford one, so I put the mens large cabled cardigan back in favor of the Fair Isle.  It was a medium, and still too small, but I have faith I will get there some day. I could have worn it open with jeans anyway.   So we paid for the jeans and the sweater, and the total was $7! 

Then, as I was leaving the store, I saw it.  Tucked away on a rack in front of the store, was a sweater that looked like it had Alpaca’s knit into the design.  I touched it.  Oh, it was soft. Quickly, I grabbed it and looked at the tag. 100% Alpaca!! It was an extra large, so it would either fit or be a little big.  I made a u-turn, went back inside and asked the guy behind the counter if I could exchange the one sweater for the other, since they were the same price.  He said sure, and so I brought the beautiful alpaca sweater home.  I couldn’t wait to try it on.

alpaca-sweater-blog.jpg

You know how you always hear that alpaca doesn’t have any memory?

It’s true.  This sweater, that is supposed to be an extra large, hangs clear past my knees. It fits fine other wise, it is just really really long.  I think I am going to try to wet block it back into shape, but if it is still too long, I guess I am going to unravel it and reknit a similar sweater that will actually fit me.  Who knows when I’ll ever get around to that. I think I am going to get Sean to take me back on Tuesday so I can get the too small sweater. At least I know it will fit me eventually.

I am almost done with Chad’s second sock.  Thank goodness God didn’t make us with more feet.  These socks have taken forever. They are really handsome, though. I think Chad is tickled I am making him socks, he keeps taking them to try on.  I have about another inch to go and then the ribbing and I will be done.  I have so many other things I want to start, I’ll have trouble deciding what to do next. I went by the Garnstudio website yesterday and found a hat and gloves set that I want to make, except making fingerless mittens instead of gloves. Also a moebius shrug and a sweater for Mom. I have to get the yarn for that one though. It calls for alpaca, but after the sweater from the thrift store, I don’t think I am going to go that route, haha.

 img_0846-1.jpg

