It is 8 in the morning here, and it has already been a long day.  Sean got up at 4:00 to go hunting with his dad, and woke me up in the process.  Sometimes, that’s a good thing, sometimes it just makes me irritable. I don’t know what the outcome is going to be today.  We have a long day planned with a field trip to the Five Civilized Tribes museum, located just down the road in Muskogee.  Our homeschool co-op is doing Interesting Oklahoma as our theme this semester. This week is the Five Civilized Tribes, and so we thought we would work in a trip to the museum. Since Sean and I have already been up since 4, I hope it is funand that we aren’t too grouchy.

I layed in bed until 5:30 trying desperately to go back to sleep. But my mind kept whirling around everything going on in my life, and I decided to get up.  Everytime I find myself unable to sleep, I remember these verses from the Bible

It is vain for you to rise up early, to sit up late, to eat the bread of sorrows: for so he giveth his beloved sleep. –Psalms 127:2

When thou liest down, thou shalt not be afraid: yea, thou shalt lie down, and thy sleep shall be sweet. –Proverbs 3:24

So if I lay there too long, and just start worrying about stuff, I make myself get up and start my day.  Exercise and then breakfast and coffe in a peaceful house does wonders for my mood.

Since I was already up, I decided to take pictures of the sock that I started yesterday.  Pictures are so much better in the early morning light than in the light at noon. I don’t know how many times I have read that, have proved it to myself, and yet I still find myself out there in the harsh Oklahoma sunlight during lunch snapping pictures so I will have some to put in a blog post.  Not today though, today you get nice morning sunlight pictures.  It was so nice outside this morning, just a little cool, and dry. We have been having a problem with the dog digging holes in front of the front step to bury his ball and his lid. It’s an icing bucket lid that he uses as a frisbee. He is obsessed with that thing and keeps digging the holes, and Sean keeps filling them in.  The dirt out here is a real soft sand, and it was so soft and warm on my feet this morning as I took pictures.  I know that won’t last much longer, fall is on it’s way.

sock-on-rock.jpg

This is the Woven Stitch Sock from Sensational Knitted Socks by Charlene Schurch. I am using a bigger needle, the larger of the two ones (1.75mm?) instead of the 0. I can already tell that not only is it knitting up faster, but it is much softer as well. I wish I had “loosened up” a long time ago.  I am going to have to buy a set of sock needles in the Knit Pick Options, though, instead of continuing to struggle with the Addi Turbos.  I keep meaning to and then forgetting to get them.    I am using some Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock Multi yarn that has been aging in my stash for at least a year, but I think I have had it since Sean started school.  It’s just lovely and soft. Definitely going to be using more of this yarn.

img_0866_cr_bl.jpg

 

