It feels like I never have time to sit down anymore.  I don’t know when life around here went for sedate and serene to 100 miles an hour, but it did.  I feel like I’m always cleaning or cooking or driving the kids somewhere.

 But in all that busy-ness, I found time to get my woven stitch socks finished, and organized some fiber so that I can knit future projects as well.

I finished these socks on Monday. I love them.  They are squishy and comfortable like you would not believe, and they are beautiful as well. I can’t wait until it gets colder so I can wear them.

basketweave-socks.jpg

Then yesterday I spent some time winding yarn into balls and counting yardage on various bits of handspun and reclaimed yarn, including this beautiful Alpaca yarn that I reclaimed from that Alpaca sweater that was too big.

reclaimed-alpaca.jpg

Last night I started knitting a moebius shawl from some handspun that has been laying around for a while.  The longer I knit with that yarn, though, the more uncomfortable I became with the color.  It was the exact color of throw up or baby poop, I couldn’t decide which.  I was thinking about over dyeing it. When Ryan said, “you know Mom, that looks like throw up”, there was no question in my mind I was re dyeing it. 

The yarn before:

moebius.jpg

 The yarn after:

redyed-yarn-crop2.jpg

 Isn’t it gorgeous. Someitmes I just can’t believe the difference a little bit of dye makes.  I overdyed this yarn with 1/2 teaspoon of Cushings Myrtle Green mixed with 1/2 Teaspoon of Cushings Garnet.  It turned out a beautiful rich mahogony brown, with lots of little highlights and glints of lighter color. I think that is the mohair that I mixed in with the wool.   It is such a deep, rich  color, it was hard to get a good picture of it. After I finish this post, I am going to wind it back into balls and start knitting again. The Moebius I was knitting was a little big, so I can adjust the size some now. 10 fewer stitches, and it’ll probably be good.

