I put in some of the lasagna beds today, or at least part of each bed.  It was a bit of work, but not nearly as grueling as walking behind the rototiller as it lurches and lunges ahead. 

 I started by marking where I was going to put each bed.  I used plant markers cause it was what I had. I plotted out each corner of the bed, and then tried to keep the paper straight as I laid it out.

img_1915.jpg

  The paper is wet to keep it from blowing away as you lay out the bed.  The paper is laid down first to kill any grass or weeds already in the ground.

After the paper, I dug up some dirt from where the sheep shelter used to be, and put that down on top  of the paper.  With lots of sheep poo, hay and leaves decomposing over there, the soil in that area was dark and rich.  The soil here in our area is mainly sand, with veins of red clay. It’s very hard to garden in. Lasagna gardening claims to amend your soil without having to do any tilling, digging or amending or the soil. We’ll see, won’t we?

img_1916.jpg

 So, that is two layers down, and now I put down a layer of hay. I popped the wires on the hay, and took a flake and spread it out. I repeated this all the way down the bed. It made a nice thick layer.  I asked my brother in law if I could clean out the rabbit poo from under his hutches.  He was glad to get rid of it, and after reading over the last couple of weeks how good rabbit poo is for gardens, I was tickled to get it! That’s a sentence you never expect to write, tickled to be hauling rabbit poo across the yard!

After the rabbit poo, Chad pitched in to help me. While I laid out the paper for the third and fourth tinier beds, and Chad started carting dirt up the hill in the wheelbarrow and spreading it out. When he got done with that, I was ready to spread out the hay, while Chad went to take a shower. Then I went and got more rabbit poo and then I spread the peat moss. I will probably put a couple of more layers on each bed at least. I would like another layer of hay (this is old hay, no longer good for feeding to animals, but great for composting) and then another layer of soil.

img_1917.jpg

You would think you would have to wait for the layers to compost, but no. When you get ready to plant, you just make a little space for each plant through the layers, and plant. The roots spread out, everything starts to decompose, and it works just perfectly. At least it works perfectly according to absolutely everything I have found to read about this method of gardening.  I am really excited to get it started!  I now have 1 bed 4 X20, 1 bed 4 x 10, 1 bed 2 x 2 in front of the back porch where I am going to plant pole beans and train them to climb strings attached to the top railing,  1 bed 2 x 10 next to the house and another little 2 x 2 bed where you climb the steps.  That bed is next to the cold frame. (Where my lettuce and spinach are really starting to come up! They actually look like spinach and lettuce!) 

I hope to make two more beds tommorow, both 4 x 20.   That sounds like such a lot of room, but I really had to restrain myself from planting more. That is just the room that I needed to grow green peppers, banana peppers, and Italian peppers, Roma and Italian heirloom tomatos, onions, garlic, and green beans, alittle bit of herbs.

I pray that the Lord will bless this little project of ours.  I am sure that there are a lot of people this spring that will be putting in a garden for the first time.  It looks like we are going to be facing a time of raising food and gas prices, and every little bit helps. If you are starting a garden this year, I pray the Lord will bless your “field” too!

If ye walk in my statutes, and keep my commandments, and do them; Then I will give you rain in due season, and the land shall yield her increase, and the trees of the field shall yield their fruit. And your threshing shall reach unto the vintage, and the vintage shall reach unto the sowing time: and ye shall eat your bread to the full, and dwell in your land safely. And I will give peace in the land, and ye shall lie down, and none shall make you afraid…                   –Leviticus 23 3-6

Now, I just have to get the chickens and rabbits set up, and decide what kind of fruit plants I want and where to put them!

