When we went to bed last night, it was sweltering in this house. I had to trade in my flannel pjs for  shorts and a t-shirt, and still slept on top of the blankets with the ceiling fan and the box fan going. It was hot! We had thunderstorms and lightening for most of the night.  Our poor black lab/collie mix hates thunderstorms. Most nights he sleeps in Chad’s room, but if it is raining or thunderstorming, you can bet he is going to sneak in to our room, walk around the bed and wake us both up, and then lay down on the floor, scared to death.  If it is daytime it is worse, he is right on your heels the entire time. You can’t walk for tripping over him.

Now it is getting steadily colder, we are supposed to have snow showers later today. I will believe it when I see it. I’d actually love to see it, we never have enough snow to suit me here. I know there are lots of people across the U.S. this year who hope to never see snow again, but not me, LOL.  Maybe if we  had more of it I could get sick of it like everybody else.

morning-coffee.jpg

I got up this morning and did my exercise, took my shower, fixed my coffee and sat down with my Bible.  For the last couple of years, my Bible has been one of the Bibles my Grandma used to use. Jody has one of Grandma’s that is practically falling apart it had been used so much, but the one I have was like new when I got it. It is a Thompsons Chain Reference Bible. I used it for almost two years before I discovered what a treasure that chain reference system is. 

The way I read my Bible every morning is this. First, I pray that the Lord will guide and direct me as I read, to prepare me for future struggles, to lead me as I teach my children, and to draw me closer to Him. Then I open to whatever the days date is in Proverbs. Today, for example, I read Chapter 3, because it is the third.  As I read, I make note of what catches my eye, what leaps out at me as pertinent to the days events or whatever struggle I am having.  In the margin beside the text is a number and a word or small group of words that give an indication of what the verse is about.  For instance, today, the verses that lept out at me were Proverbs 3:13-17, which deal with finding and treasuring wisdom.  In the topical index, Wisdom is a pretty large section, starting with 3838 and ending with 3851. Turning to those  numbers in the back of the Biblical Study Helps, I decided today to focus on Wisdom-Promised and The Search for Wisdom.

Sometimes the index presents the verses written out, sometimes just a verse reference. Even if the verse is written out, I usually go look it up in the Bible and read it, so that I can read the verses around it and get the context of the verse. Sometimes that leads me on a whole other search, sometimes it just sends me back where I started. Today, reading the verses in The Search for Wisdom led me to The Search for Guidance and the Search for Instruction.   

I have really learned a lot since I started using the chain reference, I don’t know why it took me so long.  I am the first to confess that I am not a great Biblical scholar, sometimes the Lord has to practically beat me over the head with something before I get it. But you know what? The Bible was not written for scholars, it was written for all of us, rich and poor, powerful and weak, rocket scientists and “not” rocket scientests. God gave us His Word so we could know Him, and I think that He leads us all in exactly the path He has for us. When you seek Him, He finds you right where you’re at in life, and from there, He draws you closer and closer to Him. The longer you are in His word and searching for Him, the more you see how silly all the things the world teaches us to treasure actually are, when compared to the things the Lord wants us to strive towards.

Seek ye the LORD while he may be found, call ye upon him while he is near: Let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts: and let him return unto the LORD, and he will have mercy upon him; and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon. For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts. For as the rain cometh down, and the snow from heaven, and returneth not thither, but watereth the earth, and maketh it bring forth and bud, that it may give seed to the sower, and bread to the eater: So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it. Isaiah 55:6-11

  Oh, I really love that verse.

Well, I do have a picture of my current shawl to show you. It is the Mirialas Shawl from Myrna Stahman’s Shawls and Scarves.  It is done in the feather and fan pattern, and I think that it really shows off the different handspuns well. It sure is fun to knit. I had to put in markers to section off each pattern repeat, I kept getting lost. The markers have helped tremendously, and I really recommend them if you ever decide to knit this pattern.  Anyway, here is a pic, a closeup. The black is at the top and shoulders, and the colors will be the main body of the shawl.

feather-and-fan-shawl-close-up-3308.jpg

And here is the box of yarn I am using. It is a jumbled mess! But boy is it fun to mix and match the colors to try to come up with a nice combination for the next dyed stripe.

big-box-o-yarn.jpg

This yarn is mainly shetland that I dyed, blended and spun myself when I was working on color work. I think I like it much better in this shawl.  I am doing 2 rows of natural color yarn, and then 6 rows of dyed yarn. Sometimes I end up having to use two or more colors in the dyed sections because some of those balls of yarn were really small, and I am having to knit with it doubled.  Even now, practically at the beginning of this shawl, it takes me all evening to get just 3 or 4 rows done, but it is really enjoyable and relaxing knitting.

 Well, I guess that’s it for the day.  I’ll be here, hoping for snow!

