when one of your favorite kind of day’s turns into your worst kind of day?

It happened to me on Tuesday. About the same time as I finished posting about my favorite kind of day, I got a call from Sean.  He had finished up his day in the cath lab, and then, at the urging of his co-workers, headed to the ER.  Where he was admitted to the hosptial for a bleeding ulcer.  On Wednesday he got two units of blood and underwent a GI Scope where they found the ulcer, and finally got it to stop bleeding.  Thursday, he got two more units of blood, and wasn’t allowed to come home.  Today, finally, his hemoglobin count came up and they let him come home. 

So I haven’t got anything done at all in three days, four days, except as much laundry as I could get through the wash and dry cycle between trips to the hospital.  I hate driving, absolutely hate it, but I did a lot of it the last few days. It was probably good for me, but I still don’t like driving. 

You always find out who has your back in times like this. My friend Tina kept my two youngest on Wednesday, and I don’t know what I would have done without her.  God really blessed me when we met! My inlaws pitched in like they always do.  And knowing I was going to get to talk to my Mom everyday when I updated her on Sean’s condition was the bright spot that I looked forward to. 

And of course, there’s God. God has most definitely got my back! I would start to get stressed, or worry about what was going to happen, and I would open my Bible and fall into the peace there. I can’t tell you enough, the peace between those pages is something you just have to have.  It’s not peace that you know with your head, it is peace you know with your heart.  I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world.  The Bible tells us that we will have peace beyond understanding, and it’s true.  I would be driving down the road, trying to pray, and would just say, You know Lord, I don’t know what to pray for, I just don’t know what are the right words to say (I am sure people thought I was a crazy person driving down the road talking to myself, but when you know God you aren’t ever really by  yourself, now are you) and I would be quiet for a little while and then the right words would come, and I would have peace.   I would be laying in bed, not able to sleep because Sean wasn’t there, and get up and read my Bible (Jeremiah 29:11-13) and I’d find peace. I’d get up in the morning, a nervous wreck as I tried to get everyone moving in the right direction, nervous about driving, nervous about what was going to happen with Sean, and I’d open my Bible, and read (Isaiah 26:3-4) and there would be peace.  I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world.

Well, I’m tired. I’m going to get my dishes done and get ready for bed. I’m talking to Jodi while I type this. Hi Jodi! Love you!

