Started:    April 2008

Finished: July 2008

Yarn:       Zitron Trekking Pro Natura

Needles: 2.25 and 2.50 Knit Picks Harmony 40″ circular  needles

These were the socks that I started knitting while Sean was in the hospital. I was working on the feather and fan shawl at the time, and had seen some feather and fan socks on the internet, and these just kind of happened. Feather and fan is just a tad bit addicting. If you don’t believe me, ask Myrna Stahman, who is writing a pattern book, and all the projects use the feather and fan pattern.

I did something a little different with the heel. I wanted to use a V-shaped heel, but all the directions I could find for it were for top down socks, not toe up, which is the way i like to knit socks.  So I just followed the directions as written.  When you are not wearing the socks, it looks a little weird, but with the socks on, it makes a nice little cup for your heel to fit into.

There was lots of excitement with these socks. The first sock, knit while waiting for answers, while flipping through Bible verses, worried about Sean, was nice and tight. The second socks was started while he as getting better, but the dog ate my needle.  After purchasing a replacement, several months later, my gauge was noticeably looser.  I finished the second sock while sitting outside watching the kids play in the pool.  They bought the pool themselves, with money my mom gave them for helping me clean house and get stuff done after a trip I made to the hospital with a nasty kidney infection.  It’s been a stressful first half of 2008.  I’m praying the second half is much much calmer!

