At least one post before, I have titled blessings, but I’m going to have to do it again. Everytime the Lord blesses me I pray that I come on here and shout it to the rooftops, because He is so good to me. But this was a huge blessing, as I think you’ll see.

Ever since I got my first Angora rabbit, Tinkerbelle, last winter, I have thought about getting more. She is such a sweet tempered girl, and I love spinning the wool. I would like to have some kind of a fiber based home business. So I had been praying about it and mulling it over, talking about it with Sean. So about Christmas, he and I decided that it was time to get a buck and actually go for it. I wrote the lady that I got Tinkerbelle from and was waiting to hear back from her when I saw a post on the Okiefiber yahoo group from a lady that, due to classes she was taking, needed to find new homes for her last four angora rabbits. She just didn’t have time to care for them they way they needed to be cared for. Angora’s have to be groomed at least once a week. I didn’t recognize the email address, but I wrote her right away telling her that if she hadn’t found new homes for them yet, I wanted them!

Imagine my surprise when it was Carrie, Tinkerbelles breeder! I called her on the phone, and the next thing you know, we were making plans for me to go up that Saturday and pick up the rabbits, the cages and everything! Carrie just gave them to me! I don’t think she realizes what an answer to prayer it was for me. Oh what a blessing! Thank You, Lord!

It’s been about a month now, and the rabbits are settling in just fine. We built a fine little area for them, with a wooden roof, but with tarps that can be removed in the summer for walls when it starts to get hot. I was really worried last year that when it started to get hot the angora wouldn’t be able to handle the heat, but I carried frozen water bottles to her and replaced them as they unthawed, and she did fine. There will be a lot more water bottles to tote up and down the hill this year, that’s for sure.

Would you like to meet the new angora rabbits of A Peaceful Place Rabbitry?

This is Mercy. She is the most beautiful of all the girls, with a super dense coat. All the rabbits wool needed to be harvested when they got here, and I plucked and plucked and plucked wool off of her. She alone filled up one and a half empty gallon ice cream containers with wool. She is very calm and trusting when she is sitting on your lap being groomed, but hates being taken out of her cage, being petted, or being carried. She is named aptly, because everytime I have to get her out of her cage, she really fights and I have to yell for mercy! Once she even bit me! She reminds me of the beautiful girl in high school, pretty on the outside, maybe a little misguided on the inside! I’m hoping she will come to trust me more as time goes on and not fight so hard.

mercy

The next girl is Grace. Carrie had named her Tinkerbelle, but since I already had a Tinkerbelle of my own, I renamed her Grace. Grace is a sweetie. She comes to the front of the cage to see me when I am doing chores, she nibbles on my clothes, she snuggles up to me when I carry her. When she has had enough of being groomed, she turns in my lap and digs at my shirt with her claws. She is the only rabbit I have that does that! I took her picture in her cage so you can’t see her too well, but I am hoping she will have babies this week and I didn’t want to pick her up and carry her this close to her due date. She is really pretty too, but doesn’t have as nice a coat as Mercy. Following the high school analogy, she is the girl next door that everyone loves, I think. She looks a lot like my Tinkerbelle, I think they might be sisters, but I don’t know for sure.

grace-1

Next come the boys! While all the girls in my rabbitry are white, the boys are both black/gray.
This first is Ludwig.

ludwig

Ludwig got here with a little bit of a problem. He was missing some fur and I couldn’t tell what was going on for sure, if one of the other rabbits had pulled it out, if he had pulled it out himself, or if he had mites or something. I treated him for mites just to make sure, and didn’t save any of his wool when I plucked his coat. He is looking better now, and is starting to warm up to me, meets me at the front of his cage when I feed him and is pretty calm when he is being groomed. His fur has grown back in, and he is filling out. He was very shy when he first got here. He looks like a Ludwig to me, like a little walrus. If he was in high school, I think he’d be the nerd, a little timid, a little shy. I’ve always loved nerds, though, LOL.

Now this picture of Barnaby isn’t very good. I don’t know why the others turned out good and this one didn’t, but I’ll try to take a better one later. You get the general idea…

barnaby1

..he’s gorgeous. At this highschool, he’d be the jock, easy going, friends with everyone. He’s friendly, lets me pick him up easily, grooms easily. If Grace has her babies, he’ll be the sire. We’ll see what happens, I guess.

So, I am launched into the Angora rabbit world a little quicker than I thought it would happen. I’m excited about the prospects, and I’m really enjoying myself. I have decided to name my rabbitry A Peaceful Place Rabbitry. That’s what I pray it will be.

And my people shall dwell in a peaceable habitation, and in sure dwellings, and in quiet resting places;
(Isaiah 32:18)

After grooming all these rabbits, I do have a little bit of wool that I could sell. Since this is the first time I’ve harvested a huge amount of wool, and I’m not sure I did it right, this one time I am going to price it lower than it was priced for me when I bought some from Carrie. If you think you might be interested, I’ll sell it for $5 an ounce, plus postage. Believe me, an ounce of Angora fiber goes a long long way. Even spun by itself, it’s a lot of fiber, but most people blend it with something else because Angora fiber is so much warmer than wool. Anyway, email me if you are interested!

