I thought since I was talking about saving a little money by making our own bread, I would also tell you how I “technically” save money by making my own flavored coffee ala Starbucks. I say technically because while I could buy flavored coffee at Starbucks, the nearest one to me was at least a half an hour away, if I was willing to drive there and buy one, which I never was. Recently, Starbucks closed not only their store in Muskogee, but also the one in Tahlequah, so even if I was so inclined, I couldn’t buy one now. So I would probably save more money by just giving these up, but I’m just not ready to do that yet.

I got a machine called a cocomotion machine. It is supposed to be used to mix your hot chocolate drink powder into water to make hot chocolate. Believe me when I say that if this is all you are using yours for, you are sadly underusing it. First of all, you can make far better hot chocolate in it by following the directions on the side of a can of Hershey’s cocoa. Second, it makes a much much better hot chocolate if you pour in milk, then dump a bunch of chocolate chips in there and turn it on. Don’t ask me how I know this.
The best use for it though, is for coffee. I pour in two cups of filtered water, 1 tablespoon of instant coffee, 2 tablespoons of flavored coffee syrup (I use sugar free english toffee and vanilla. You can not taste the difference between those and the ones with sugar in them, believe me) and 1/3 of a cup of powdered milk. Turn on the machine and watch it whip you up a huge cup of coffee with at least an inch of foam. As a side note, it will not foam up if you put cocoa powder in it. Something about the cocoa powder keeps the foam from forming.
making-coffee

Pour it into a huge cup, sprinkle a little cinnamon on it, and you’re set.
made-coffee

There was a coffee shop we went to in the mall in NC quite frequently called Barney’s. They had a drink called a toffee coffee and this is pretty close to that.

After figuring up costs per serving of my coffee (Instant coffee, .16 a servomg; flavored syrup, .13 a serving ; instant milk, .21 a serving ;water is “free”) I get a grand total of .50 a serving! Sean tells me a cappacino can cost anywhere from 2 to 5 dollats, so that’s  quite a savings over flavored coffee from a coffee shop, and I think it tastes pretty good.

Still knitting away on the paid knitting project. After knitting for three days, I called the customer to see just how long these leg warmers needed to be. She measured her daughter, and I will have to knit 24 inches of ribbing for them to fit the way she wants them to. So as of last night, I still have 11 inches of ribbing to go on the FIRST leg warmer. That’ll teach me. The girl I am knitting them for is a nice girl, though, and its not that I mind knitting them. It’s just a lot of ribbing! The panel of stockinette up the side of these is for duplicate stitch hearts. I think that is going to be the most fun part of this project, I’ve never done duplicate stitch before. I’m (really) looking forward to it.
leg-warmers

