I have lost 4 of the silver laced wyandotte chicks to raccoons. We have caught 2 of the murderous thieves and exiled them to lands far far away. The problem is, there are always more raccoons. I just don’t understand why something so cute has to be so vicious. The first night they stole two chickens through a hole so small I couldn’t believe the chickens were gone. I spent the entire day stapling 1/2 by 1, 1 by 1 and even 1/2 by 1/2 inch wire over every opening that I could find. So what did the racoons do? They ripped the chicken wire off the sides of the enclosure. I mean, if they are going to rip the wire off completely, I don’t have any other option than to trap and transport. Now my remaining three wyandotte chicks are in with the banty chickens,which of course, the raccoons ignored in favor of the tender wyandottes, even though at this point, all of them are the same size! Now the banties are terrorizing the wyandottes, but at least they have a fighting chance. They were helpless against the racoons.

