babyjacket, hat and bibYarn: I Love This Cotton (available at Hobby Lobby)

1 Skein Ivory + a little

1 Skein Taupe

1/2 Skein Antique Teal

Patterns:

Drops Knitted Bib

Plymouth Yarn Top Down Baby Sweater

My own baby hat pattern

I’ve known for a while that I needed to make a baby gift for my pastor’s son and his wife, who are expecting their first child.  It took a while for inspiration to hit though.  I found this bib pattern at the DROPS site, and that did it.  I decided to knit it in ivory and tan, and then crochet a border of teal around it. I love that color combination.  Once the bib was done and the border was crocehted on, though, I didn’t like the way it looked.  I ripped it out and did an applied I-Cord edge instead, and that sealed it! I loved the way it looked!  I did the icord from the top inside corner of the bib to the other, then did a long  I cord before attaching that I cord to the inside of the neck edge, and then finished by doing an equal amount of icord for the other string.  It is so cute. I wanted it to be perfect though, so I ended up knitting a second bib before I was satisfied.

I had so much extra yarn, that I decided to knit a jacket as well.  Surely if I was knitting a whole jacket, though, I would need more yarn! So back to Hobby Lobby I went to buy another skein of each color. Luckily I was able to match the dye lots.  The jacket was a lot of fun as well, I was a little worried before I blocked it, but blocking made it looks so much better.  For the one button hole, I just did a few lines of free I-cord while attaching the I-Cord edge, and that worked wonderfully.  jacket

Still had plenty of yarn though! So a hat was in order.  I just used my basic baby hat pattern, since I cord would not make a good hat brim. I learned how to do jogless stripes on this hat, a skill that had eluded me up to this point.  I wish I had bothered to figure it out while I was doing the sleeves on the baby jacket.  I squared the decreases instead of doing them equally spaced so that the hat would have some of the same angles as the bib and jacket.

hat

I really liked this project. I love that it looks like a real set and not the hodgepodge of patterns it actually is. I have had so much fun doing it, and I used only a skein and a little of the ivory, one skein of the taupe and half or less of the teal.  If I get real ambitious I might do a pair of pants as well, if I can find an simple pattern.  I would say that this outfit would fit the 3-6 month range in size.  I hope little Gideon enjoys wearing it as much as I enjoyed knitting it!

