I hate to call the knitting that I have been doing lately working, because I have really been in love with it.  I love the yarn, the beads and the pattern, and the way it has all combined into a beautiful finished object. It has been work, though. I have been designing these fingerless mitts for my SIL, who wants to give them to her aunt at a late September getaway.

I had tried to start these several times, and nothing was working out the way I wanted.  Then, I decided that instead of just flirting with the idea of designing and publishing patterns, I was really going to give it a go. So I gave myself a clean slate with the fingerless mitts. I did some swatches, and decided on a stitch pattern I really loved.  I started taking detailed notes from the moment I cast on.  I gave myself  “work hours”  after homeschool everyday, and told everyone that that was what I was going to be doing. Not playing referee, not doing housework, but “designing”. I think most importantly though, I told myself that.  If I really want to do this, (and I do) then I have to be serious about it. It is not going to happen if it is just a thought in the back of my head that I never do anything about.

Anyway…I will finish the mitten set today, barring anything catastrophic happening. I think they are beautiful, and I hope Lori does too.  At this point though, I can’t decide what to do next. I am leaning towards submitting it to Knit Picks for their Independent Designer Patterns line.  I read their submission guidelines last night right before bed, and I am going to have to go read them again this morning.   I am so excited about this, but nervous too.  I’ve thought so often about what I would like to do when “the kids get a little older”. We would all like to do something we love, right?  I’ve prayed about it and prayed about it, and this is the first time that I feel like it’s the right thing to do.   I guess we’ll see.

No knitting to show today, although I did knit a little bootie for my private knitting lesson. It was so easy! I knit one changing yarn colors wherever the pattern directions changed. One color for increases, one for straight knitting, one for decreases.  That way my student can lay her knitting on top of my sample piece and see how her knitting is matching up.  That wouldn’t work for something big, but for her first small project, I think it is going to work very well.  Then I knit another one out of one color of yarn and finished it up so she could see what it was going to look like.   We won’t have a lesson this week, but I can’t wait for next week.  Next week homeschool co-op starts as well, so I have to get some yarn plied up for my new knitters.  I was given a huge bag of Red Heart yarn and that is all going to be plied up so that the new knitters will have lots to work with.

Well, I guess that is all for today!

