Hubby and I took a quick trip to town yesterday to pick up odds and ends to get us through the next week. Since we were by ourselves, I convinced Hubby to let me go and browse through the thrift store. I love the thrift store, but I have had to make up rules about thrift store visits. I have a mental “thrift store list” and I do not buy anything from the thrift store unless it is on the list. There can be exceptions to the rule if it is something so fantastic that it would be a crime not to get it, but the main reason for the rule is so that I don’t bring home other peoples junk. I do not want to end up as an episode of “Hoarders”

Luckily, yesterday I found two items that were on my list! One was a set of those giant checkers complete with the cloth checker board. The kids love that set, there is one at the library, and I was thinking about getting them a set from the Bass Pro Shop for Christmas, but the set I found yesterday was only two dollars! Score! The sets at Bass Pro are over 10.00.

The second item I found yesterday was something that has been on my list for a while. I love to make cookies with a cookie press, but somewhere between NC and here, (over 10 years ago!) I lost my cookie press. I knew one would turn up eventually! This one was in a plastic bag with a bunch of other stuff.

I went through the entire bag before I bought it, to make sure all the parts to the cookie press were there. There was a lot of good stuff in there. The cookie press, 12 discs for cookies, and three tips. A smaller decorating tube and the tips for that. And a Pampered Chef “Cut n’ Seal” that sells for 9.00 on the Pampered Chef site. I have found a lot of recipes for that. I think it was well worth the $5 I paid for the bag. I’m thrilled! Can’t wait to make butter cookies for Christmas!

