Knitted Lace of Estonia by Nancy Bush

I have been in love with the patterns in this book since I first saw them on Ravelry. They are so gorgeous, and just the kind of thing I like to knit. I have been thinking about buying this for some time, because it is just the kind of book I like to have on my personal library shelves. Before I could buy it myself, though, they purchased a shelf copy at my local library, so I was able to check it out and take a look at it. I have to say, it is even more breathtaking than I could have imagined. The knitting patterns are just beautiful, and the little section on the history of Estonian Lace is right up my alley. I love to learn about the history of knitting.

I think the feature I am most excited about in this book is the stitch pattern dictionary in the back. I love the look of this lace, and I love to knit shawls, (and I know I will knit at least one from this book! Either Miralda’s Triangular Shawl or the Crown Prince Square Shawl) but I really feel the need to make something more modern but with the feel of a lace shawl. These stitch patterns really inspire me.

I was even more excited to see on Amazon that they also have this book with an instructional DVD! I think when I buy a copy of this (and I will) I will get the one with the DVD. It would be like having your own little knitting workshop right in your living room!

