20110321-074639.jpg

This winter was hard on me. We had two weeks of snow and really cold temperatures. My kids really wanted to spend time out there building forts and snowmen, and throwing snowballs. THey were hindered in their pursuits by the fact that, although their mother knits almost constantly…they had no mittens, no warm hats, no thick scarves. I was mortified! I decided that next year, that is not going to happen again.

So this week, while I was laid up, I knit the first hat for the “My kids WILL be dressed appropriately for winter” box. Ryan’s mittens are already in there, and I have started mittens for Chad. I have poured over patterns on Ravelry looking for appropriate hats, but I wanted to knit my second Dean Street Hat in the leftover Dream in Color Classy I had left. This is a very quick knit, good TV knitting I watched the entire first season of Downton Abbey while I knit this, and enjoyed every minute of it.

This is the Happy Feet color. It seemed appropriate to knit with it the week of St, Patrick’s day!

20110321-074725.jpg

Im not sure who will get the hat, although Reagan modeled for me as usual. I just know I’m making enough that they can pick and choose what they want to wear. Except Reagan will have to have smaller mittens than the boys.

