I have a wonderful family. I love my husband more than I would have ever thought possible, I have great kids who make me laugh, and I love living in Oklahoma most of the time.

This week, though, I was supposed to get to go to Mom’s for Easter. Things happened, a lot of things, and I am definitely not in WV. My twin is, however, visiting mom for the holidays. I’m glad they are together, but really really sad that I’m not there. It’s hard to remember that it’s all in God’s plan when all I want is a hug, and to sit at mom’s table and drink coffee and laugh. Sean’s family is great, I love them, but they aren’t Jody, they aren’t mom, not Nikki. There is absolutely nothing I can do to try and make this better. I keep repeating to myself “Bloom where you’re planted” “All things work together for good to those that love the Lord” and “I know the thoughts I have towards you, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you an expected end”. I try to remember that there are soldiers and missionaries that haven’t seen their families for years.

Maybe someday it will all be easier, I will be able to just accept God’s will in my life and not fuss and cry.

Today though, I just want my mom…

