The computer was running a little slow on Friday, so one of my children just turned off the power supply instead of shutting it down. I guess that was the last straw for that computer, and it crashed like nobody’s business. It’s dead, Jim.

Luckily, we were in a position where we could get a new computer. We bought a display model from Best Buy and saved almost or a little over $200 off the retail price. We need to start homeschool back up here in the next 2 or 3 weeks and having a computer makes it so much easier. We were also kind of semi prepared in that I had most (but not all) of my pictures backed up, I think I lost a lot of Chad’s graduation pictures. I had my favorite programs on a CD so I didn’t have to download them from the internet again. I’m still hoping to find a CD with all the church bulletins on it, so I don’t have to reinvent the wheel there. I did lose all my music though, and I’m upset about that. I don’t buy a lot of music, but a song here and there adds up, and there is no way to replace them. All in all, though, it could have been much, much worse. I’m glad to have what I have, and very thankful.

I did lose all my design work. I had been meticulous in saving my work for my patterns as I went along in case I ever needed to revisit it, and now it’s gone. I do have the final copies of the two patterns on KnitPicks, but lost all the work I had done on two or three new patterns. It will have to be started from scratch. I could be upset, but I’m just going to take it as an opportunity to make them even better!

