cross process blog only

My newest design,  the Honeysuckle Vine hat, went live on Ravelry today! I am really excited about this design, because the yarn I used was produced here locally by Heaven Sent Food and Fiber.  It is a sportweight yarn, comprised of 70% Merino and 30% Bamboo.  It has an unbelievably soft hand, it just flows through your hands like silk. I have knit with a lot of yarn, and I have to say, I thnk it is my absolute favorite yarn of all time. 

 

P1000972

My model, though is starting to have illusions of grandeur.  She used to work for free, but this morning as I was taking the final pictures to put in the pattern, suggested maybe she should get paid.   I think maybe she has a point, she sure does make the knits look good. 

 

detail 1

Naming a design is always the hardest part of the process for me, and that was the case with this pattern as well.   I love the way the ribbing twists and turns up the brim of the hat, but Ivy was already taken as a pattern name.  By a lot.  There were a lot of results when typing Ivy into the ravelry search engine.

So I started thinking, about plants that are like Ivy, and it wasn’t long until I had hit on Honeysuckle Vine as a name.  I hope projects from this pattern are just as prolific as honeysuckle is here in Oklahoma and back home in West Virginia.  It was always one of my favorite flowers, and I love the way it smells.  I think it’s a good name.

 

woods side 1r

Honeysuckle Vine:

designed by Jan Garrett

Heaven Sent Fibers Natural Taupe Yarn

70% merino/30% bamboo

Sportweight-200 yards/skein-1 skein

Size US 3 circular needles, or needles for your preferred method of knitting in the round.

Gauge: 24 stitches and 30 rows to 4 inches in St. Stitch

with optional button band, which can be permanent or convertible!

