Everything continues here as usual.  We are back in our homeschooling schedule after the Christmas holiday, and I am knitting and weaving.  We are also waiting for baby goats to be born.  Looks like JarJar is the only one pregnant. We know how that went last year, though, so I am definitely keeping my expectations low.  She is being a bit of a bully to Sally, but I guess that is how pregnant goats act.  I really hope if she is pregnant she has a girl, I just don’t have room to keep a boy.

 

The weaving is going well.  I am getting the hang of keeping my edges straight.  After considering many options for cutting fabric into strips, I bought a rotary cutter, a mat and a ruler.  The mat and ruler are small, but I didn’t want to make a huge investment if I didn’t know for sure that it was going to work.  It does make a huge difference after using scissors for so long.   Simplicity makes a little machine that cuts strips, and I seriously considered asking for that for my birthday, but the reviews seemed to be 9 to 1 in the negative, so I just couldn’t risk the money. There is a little rotary cutter with the brand name of Gemsy that I am considering for about the same money, but it is a serious tool, and I wanted to try the rotary cutter first.  I’ve only used it for a day or two, but it does seem to make things a lot neater and straighter.  Also faster if I am cutting regular fabric and not these old dishcloths.

 

I do have pictures of the finished baby sweater to show.  I actually knit two sweaters for Caleb and Heather’s baby, who will be named Adelyn.  But the other one didn’t turn out beautiful, and I needed to make them a beautfiul sweater.

P1010398

And here is the back of the yoke:

P1010401

 

And the detail on the hem:

P1010397

 

All these pictures were taken on a rug I wove for Jody for our birthday.  I sure hope she likes it! I sent her Christmas present too, so she has a big box of things to open. It sure tickles me to be able to send her something, for once, cause she sure is good to me! God couldn’t have given me a better twin sister.

