About a month ago, I started thinking about getting a DSLR. I wanted to improve my photography for my patterns, but I also just enjoy taking pictures. I emailed my brother, Rocky, asking him what I absolutely needed, because I was thinking about just buying a used camera. I didn't eed anything super fancy, and figured something a few years older would suit me just fine. Imagine how floored I was when he sent me his old camera, a Rebel xTi! I am still just so humbled by how kind and sweet that was, and truly a blessing for me!

 

So I have been taking pictures constantly! It's been a real learning curve even from the superzoom I used to use. I always seemed to be taking pictures of the same things; goats, Reagan, and knitting. Then I remembered something I had seen on one of my favorite blogs (got sucked in by the knitting, stayed for the hilarious American Idol reviews!) about a photo challenge.

So,I am starting the photo a day challenge, from the blog Fat Mum Slim. I thought I would post my pictures here in addition to posting them on twitter. Is that overkill? Anyway, everyday has a different theme, and you take a picture of that theme, and then share it with the world. Here are my first three photos for this month.

 

Aug 1: Outside.Still a goat picture, but who can resist that face! This is two of the three baby girls JarJar gave me this year. After the disaster of no baby at all the year before, I'd say she more than redeemed herself. I am keeping these two, Shorty, looking at the camera, and Rosie, focused on food! The third is Sweetie, and she is going to live at Heaven Sent Food and Fiber Farms.

 

Aug 2: One. This was a hard challenge. There isn't a lot that I have only one of. Does that mean I am having hoarder tendencies? Probably. Finally I settled on my favorite out of all the colors of KnitPicks Palette. I love this deep dark shade that is kind of a turquoise, but not really.

 

Aug 3: Coin. Again, one coin was hard. We have these coins that my FIL brought back from China, and while I don't think they are old, they are beautiful.

 

So that is the first three days! Looking forward to the rest of August!

 

